The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Images by T.Dashfield

Regardless of whether you liked the man or his works, this is a must see when visiting Key West, Florida.  As part of my schooling I had to read at least one of his books for English literature and as my parents were fans of Spencer Tracy movies, I had seen the movie The Old Man and the Sea.  So when I discovered that I could actually see bits of the man who wrote these magnificent works of literature that several movies were based upon I just had to go.  Hemingway arrived in Key West from Paris (after a stop in Cuba which would later play into some of his work) through the urgings of one of the expatriate artists and writers group that he was a part of in the late 1920’s.

This home was built in 1851 in the Spanish Colonial style and was in great disrepair when…

View original post 199 more words

Leave a Reply

