Closing In

The Making of a Minimalist Monument to Moi

Brisbane has become a city of inclement weather. Climate change sceptics will argue that there is no trend or cause for alarm in the bad weather we’ve experienced in the last year. But every drop of rain that falls out of season during the construction of my Monument to Moi falls more heavily in my mind and I’ve never felt more pessimistic about the likelihood of good weather. Especially as I’ve been waiting for the roof to go on.

The completed roof structure, following the insertion of the stair and balustrade The completed roof structure, following the insertion of the stair and balustrade

Though I love seeing the blue sky through the geometric genius of my roof structure, the flooring timbers grow more mouldy with every day of rain, which I’m told won’t affect them, but even so, I can’t wait for the roof to go on.

There’s a reason that it’s taken a little longer of course. We’ve been waiting for the…

View original post 680 more words

Leave a Reply

