Bones

Eyes + Words

Written by Jacob Ibrag

Dwindling by the numbers,
yet we pray for signs.

looking around.

Scouring for the light.

Praying for a hole in the sky.

The bones of the lost rain
through the hole to remind the eye.

From the past to the now,
linked through the fog of time.

Deja vu washes over the leftovers.

I remember now.
It was a Monday.
Twenty year ago.
I was crying because some kid
stole my left shoe.
I wanted to crawl in a shell and expire.
A foreign shadow appeared before me.
Ice cream man.

“It’s a cassette tape,
on constant rewind.
Life.”

I’ve been here before.

So have you.

These bones used to be mine.


Image by Alex Cherry

View original post

Leave a Reply

